Announcing the Winners of the 2015 Digital Innovation in Learning Awards! - Digital Promise

Announcing the Winners of the 2015 Digital Innovation in Learning Awards!

October 15, 2015 | By

For two years now, October has been an inspiring month for us. Why? In October, we get to share the winners of the Digital Innovation in Learning Awards (DILAs)! Today, we are thrilled to announce 16 stellar winners in the 2015 DILAs.

We founded the DILAs last year to share innovative education practices and raise the bar across teaching, leadership, and development. This year, after receiving more than 400 video submissions, the panel of DILAs judges selected winners across 15 categories.

Each winner created a three-minute video, all of which are available here. In addition, get inspired by viewing the playlists of the winning videos and Honorable Mention applicants in each category (educators, administrators, and organizations).

And with that, meet the 2015 winners!


Educator Winners

Busting Boundaries
Katherine Mussachio
International Connections Academy, Lockport, NY

Parents as Partners
Benjamin Gaines
Rancho Minerva Middle School, Vista, CA

Creative Director
Dyke Redmond
Heart & Soul Design Communications Center, Inglewood, CA

Sharing is Caring
Kasey Bell
Region 10 ESC, Mckinney, TX

Teacher Trailblazer
Julia Winter
Detroit Country Day School, Bloomfield, MI


Administrator Winners

Administrator Trailblazer
Grant Smith
Avondale Elementary School District, Avondale, AZ

Open Door Policy
S. Dallas Dance
Baltimore County Public Schools, Towson, MD

Power to the People
Roger Cook
Taylor County School District, Campbellsville, KY

Steven Dunlap
Riverside Unified School District, Riverside, CA

Learning Ninja
Todd Keruskin
Elizabeth Forward School District, Elizabeth, PA

Savvy Spaces
Brad Gustafson
Wayzata Public Schools, Plymouth, MN


Organization Winners

Better Together
Mozilla Hive Chicago
Chicago, IL

Global Exchange
Global Nomads Group
New York, NY

Learn Everywhere
Mission Graduates Latina Tech Mentor Program
San Francisco, CA

Mindful Data
Portland, OR

Kidaptive, Inc.
Mountain View, CA


This year’s winners are representative of countless other people who are working to improve opportunities for learning. Esther Wojcicki, one of the 2015 DILAs judges, wrote to us during the process: “I really don’t know how to pick… In fact, if all schools and all districts did what these people are doing there would be no education issues in the U.S.” (And, we dare say, the world! We received submissions from 39 countries this year.)

To celebrate the winners, on November 20, 2015, Digital Promise and EdSurge will co-host the Digital Innovation in Learning Awards Gala at the Computer History Museum in Mountain View, Calif. Join us!

Thanks to our sponsors, CK12, Curriculum Associates, McGraw Hill Education, Qualcomm Education, Inc., Scholastic, and TES Global, for making this program possible. Congratulations to the 16 winners and to everyone else who participated in the DILAs this year!

Sign Up For Updates! Email icon

Sign up for updates!