League Advisory Committee – Digital Promise

League Advisory Committee

Current Members

The League of Innovative Schools is guided and advised in its work by the following district leaders:

Michael Loughhead

Dr. Michael Loughead is the proud superintendent of the award-winning Hampton Township School District. Dr. Loughead has more than 30 years of experience in public education and a commitment to providing innovative, student-focused learning with an emphasis on the whole child. Dr. Loughead began his career serving students in rural West Virginia, providing various support services, including teaching, counseling, and psychology. He transitioned to school administration at the Pine Richland School District, where he served as the director of student services. He held the position of assistant superintendent at the Burrell School District and the South Fayette School District prior to being appointed as superintendent of the Hampton Township School District in 2016. Dr. Loughead previously held the position of adjunct professor at Gannon University in the Graduate School of Education and is presently a visiting professor at the University Pittsburgh School of Education. He was selected to participate in the prestigious Forum for Western Pennsylvania School Superintendents and received the Pennsylvania Association for Curriculum Development Award from PASCD.

Julie Mitchell

Dr. Julie Mitchell is the superintendent of Rowland Unified School District, located in Los Angeles County, California. With 35 years of experience in public education, Dr. Mitchell is committed to providing all students with an exceptional educational experience which will assist them with becoming thriving members of an ever-changing global society. Dr. Mitchell has dedicated her entire career to ensuring that each and every child is given every opportunity to succeed and achieve. She considers herself a teacher at heart and public education is her passion. Her leadership philosophy is to create a positive learning environment for both students and staff, while building upon excellence with students at the center of all decisions. Her leadership has brought a laser focus and unwavering vision and commitment to “Innovative Learning for All” that supports the individual needs of students, families, and staff. This vision has garnered the Rowland Unified School District with many state and national awards, including being named as a 2018 Visionary School District featured at the National Model Schools Conference, receiving a Districts of Distinction honor by District Administration Magazine.

Dr. Melissa Moore

Dr. Melissa Moore is superintendent of the El Segundo Unified School District (ESUSD) in Southern California. An educator for more than 35 years, she was honored as Superintendent of the Year in 2018 by the Association of California School Administrators (Region 14). ESUSD joined the League of Innovative Schools in 2016 and in the last seven years, has been honored with more than 30 awards from outside agencies. Having every student feel seen, heard, supported, and loved is a primary focus at ESUSD. Under Dr. Moore’s guidance, ESUSD adopted a Graduate Profile; implemented Project Lead the Way/STEM curriculum for K-12; brought the Yale Institute for Social Emotional Learning’s RULER Approach to the district; and implemented a 1:1 technology initiative for grades K-12. She earned a doctorate degree in educational leadership from the University of Southern California, a master’s degree in education from California State University, Los Angeles, and a bachelor’s degree in liberal studies from the University of Redlands. Her educational leadership was recognized through the 8th Congressional District Woman of Distinction Award, USC Dean’s Superintendents Advisory Group Merit Scholarship Award, and a Leading Educator Scholarship to ASU’s Global Silicon Valley Summit. She also serves as an Honorary Commander at the Los Angeles Air Force Base.

Dr. Michael Nagler

Dr. Michael Nagler is superintendent of Mineola Public Schools, a suburb of New York City. Dr. Nagler began his career as a social studies teacher in NYC. While teaching he earned his doctorate from Columbia University and accepted an administrative position with Mineola in 1999. He believes strongly in the district’s mission to inspire students to become lifelong learners that exhibit strength of character and contribute positively to a global society. During his more than 18 years with the district, he has been a big proponent of using technology to engage students in rigorous content. Dr. Nagler has also been instrumental in creating a platform to assess student learning using electronic portfolios and digital badges. He even coded his own digital portfolio. All five schools in Mineola are recognized as Apple Distinguished Schools. In 2020, Dr. Nagler was named New York State Superintendent of the Year by the New York State Council of School Superintendents. Bestowed at the Winter Institute, the award is part of the American Association of School Administrators’ national award, which was established in 1988.

Apply to the League of Innovative Schools Advisory Committee!

Do you want to play a critical role in helping shape the future of the League? Apply to join the League’s Advisory Committee. Members provide input on program design, introduce new districts to the League, and offer guidance on League policies and procedures by:

  • Serving for a minimum of three years
  • Participating in regular calls led by Digital Promise
  • Attending in-person meetings at League gatherings

To be eligible, League members must:

  • Complete at least one year as a superintendent by the end of the current school year
  • Regularly participate in League programming and opportunities

Please nominate a colleague or apply by Friday, June 16.

Sign Up For Updates! Email icon

Sign up for updates!